Which Game Of Thrones Seasons Are Based On Books?

Which Game Of Thrones Seasons Are Based On Books

As we all probably know by now Game of Thrones is a tv series which was aired on HBO and it is an adaptation of A Song of Ice and Fire, a series of fantasy novels by George R. R. Martin, the first of which is A Game of Thrones, set in the fictional Seven Kingdoms of Westeros and the continent of Essos.

The show premiered on April 17, 2011, and there are eight seasons with 73 episodes in total. The last episode aired on May 19, 2019.

The books in A Song of Ice and Fire, in order, are as follows: A Game of Thrones; A Clash of Kings; A Storm of Swords; A Feast for Crows; A Dance With Dragons; The Winds of Winter; and A Dream of Spring.

Seasons one, two, three and four were almost entirely based on the books. Although most of the plot from season 5 did occur in the books, the series creators decided to take their own spin on certain events that never happened in the books (like Sansa being sold to the Boltons, Stannis burning Shireen…).

The producers managed to squeeze two books, A Feast for Crows and A Dance with Dragons, into Season 5, and Season 6 took most of its story from The Winds of Winter.

Season 7 was based on an outline of the two final unpublished novels in George R.R. Martin’s A Song of Ice and Fire series, The Winds of Winter and A Dream of Spring.       

Game of Thrones Seasons Corresponding to Books (At Least First Few Seasons)

The TV show was designed to appeal to modern day audiences, our wants and wishes are fulfilled to the max, but this has a cost as it makes them sacrifice valid points and actions, sometimes even characters were bluntly replaced all for the sake of screentime.

After the fourth season the show diverges pretty heavily from the written material even when there’s material from which to draw.

Some stuff in the fifth season occurred earlier in the books (like Jon’s election as lord commander), and some of it will have occurred later (for example: in the books Tyrion hasn’t yet met Dany, and Stannis’ Winterfell battle has yet to play out on the page).

Is Tyrion Lannister in the Books?

Which Game Of Thrones Seasons Are Based On Books

Tyrion Lannister, also known as the Halfman, the Imp and the Hugor Hill, is a member of House Lannister and he is the third and youngest child of Lord Tywin Lannister and Lady Joanna Lannister. His older siblings are Cersei Lannister, and Ser Jaime Lannister.

Tyrion Lannister is one of the main characters in the books and he appears first in A Game of Thrones (1996), and then in A Clash of Kings (1998) and A Storm of Swords (2000).

Are Game of Thrones Books Better Than the Show?

This is very subjective and of course it all depends on a person. However, most people that read the books and watched the show have found the book to be better and more entertaining.

This is probably because when you’re reading a book although the character is described, the reader is still the one who visualizes it according his or her preferences.

Also the books are usually much more detailed.

George R.R. Martin Wrote Few of the Episodes

Many don’t know but George R.R. Martin actually wrote few of the episodes for the show.

Although he was supposed to continue writing for the show he eventually stopped because he wanted to focus on finishing the book series as it was confusing trying to keep track of the show’s chronology after it differed from the events of the book.

This is an official reason of why he stopped writing but some believe that he had a conflict with the show runners, as he may have taken an issue with some of the same changes made in comparison to the books.

Daenerys Targaryen Doesn’t Go Mad in the Books

In the books Daenerys doesn’t go mad but she does commit numerous atrocities. She doesn’t go mad per se as it turns out she became ruthless and chose to embrace Fire and Blood.

Was Khaleesi Fireproof in the Books?

Which Game Of Thrones Seasons Are Based On Books

In A Dance With Dragons, she has blisters on her hands and burns from when she escaped the fighting pits on Drogon. She isn’t really fireproof. She survived the initial conflagration with the eggs because of the magic of the witch Mirri Maz Duur. She copied the blood magic of Mirri Maz Duur and therefore was able to withstand the flames.

In the books, she was “fireproof” only once and that was the time when she hatched the dragons and it was because that was a one-time thing thanks to Mirri Maz Durr’s bloodmagic and life, and the bleeding star that protected her from the flames.

A Prequel to Game of Thrones

House of the Dragon is a prequel to the tv series Game of Thrones. It is created by George R. R. Martin and Ryan J. Condal and aired on HBO.

The prequel is based on George R.R. Martin’s 2018 novel Fire & Blood and it is set two hundred years before the events of Game of Thrones and focuses on the ancestors of Daenerys Targaryen.

The prequel to the books is already mentioned novel Fire & Blood. The first volume of Fire & Blood was released on November 20, 2018 and for now it seems that only the second half of this first volume is to be adapted into a series. The prequel has a strong cast with a high number of recognizable names, much more recognizable than Game of Thrones had in its first season.